Mobile menu icon
Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Mobile menu icon Search iconSearch
Search type

Department of Mathematics

Old computing equipment

History and heritage

We have a long, proud history, with many distinguished mathematicians playing a role in our story.

Alan Turing statue in Sackville Gardens
An Alan Turing statue sits in Sackville Gardens, Manchester.

The Department of Mathematics was formed in 2004 with the merger of the mathematics Departments of the Victoria University of Manchester and UMIST.

It brought together two Departments of similar size and academic strength. Both were home to many famous mathematicians, from 'the creator of modern computing' Alan Turing to Sir Horace Lamb.

Their collective academic achievements set a standard to which we continue to strive today:

  • Horace Lamb
  • Lewis Fry Richardson
  • Louis Mordell
  • Cornelius Lanczos
  • Max Newman
  • Sydney Goldstein
  • Kathleen Ollerenshaw
  • Alan Turing
  • Hanna Neumann
  • Phyllis Nicolson
  • James Lighthill
  • Frank Adams
  • Joan Walsh
  • Maurice Priestly
  • Brian Hartley