Open days

The University of Manchester is one of the UK’s largest and most reputable universities. The Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences is home to a group of more than 2000 postgraduate students, with more than 70 specialist research groups and links with key industrial partners.

A postgraduate degree from Manchester is an excellent route to better career prospects. If you want to achieve more then take a closer look at the benefits a postgraduate degree can offer.

The School of Mathematics has about 170 postgraduate students in principal areas of mathematics. To find out more come along to one of our open days to discuss your interests with academics and attend talks on the MSc and research degrees that we offer.

Our next Postgraduate Open Day for prospective PhD students is Wednesday 22 October 2014.  If you would like to attend please complete a registration form.  If you also require to speak to a particular academic in the School of Mathematics please email us in advance at: pgr-maths@manchester.ac.uk

Our PhD Open Day programme on Wednesday 22nd October will be as follows:

14.00 Visit the 'School of Mathematics' stand in the foyer of the Alan Turing Building*
14.30 Presentation on 'Postgraduate Research in the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences' by Professor Ann Webb, Associate Dean for Graduate Education
14:45 'Introduction to PhD Study in Mathematics at Manchester' by Prof. Matthias Heil, in Frank Adams 1 located on the first floor of the Alan Turing Building
15.15 Introduction to the PhD Programme Directors. This will take place on the Atrium Bridge (1st floor) of the Alan Turing Building and will provide you with an opportunity for informal discussions about our PhD programmes with academics and current PhD students
16.00  Close

*Please note that the School of Mathematics stand will be open from 14.00 until 16.00 and a member of staff/and or a PhD student will be present to answer any questions you may have.

Light refreshments (tea, coffee and biscuits) will also be available in the foyer of the Alan Turing Building during the hours of 14.00-16.00.

Postgraduate programme directors: 

 

PhD and MSc Actuarial Science

Dr Kees van Schaik

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5853

Email: Kees.vanSchaik@manchester.ac.uk

MSc Actuarial Science

Dr Saralees Nadarajah

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5912

Email: Saralees.Nadarajah@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Applied Mathematics

Dr Catherine Powell

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3688

Email: Catherine.Powell@manchester.ac.uk

MSc in Applied Mathematics

Dr William Parnell

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5908

Email: William.Parnell@manchester.ac.uk

MSc Pure Mathematics and Logic

Dr Marcus Tressl

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3672

Email: Marcus.Tressl@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Logic

Dr Yuri Bazlov

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5816

Email: Yuri.Bazlov@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Statistics

Dr Alex Donev

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3699

Email: Alex.Donev@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Probability

Dr Alex Donev

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3699

Email: Alex.Donev@manchester.ac.uk

MSc Mathematical Finance

Professor Goran Peskir

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3215

Email: Goran.Peskir@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Bagley (Admissions)

Tel:+44 (0)161 306 3662

Email: Jonathan.Bagley@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Financial Mathematics

Dr Kees van Schaik

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5853

Email: Kees.vanSchaik@manchester.ac.uk

MSc Statistics

Dr Peter Foster

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5915

Email: Peter.Foster@manchester.ac.uk

Dr. Georgi Boshnakov (Admissions)

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3684

Email: Georgi.Boshnakov@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Numerical Analysis

Dr Catherine Powell

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3688

Email: Catherine.Powell@manchester.ac.uk

 

General enquiries and applications

PG Admissions
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 0176
Email: pg-maths@manchester.ac.uk

 

▲ Up to the top