Open days

The University of Manchester is one of the UK’s largest and most reputable universities. The Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences is home to a group of more than 2000 postgraduate students, with more than 70 specialist research groups and links with key industrial partners.

A postgraduate degree from Manchester is an excellent route to better career prospects. If you want to achieve more then take a closer look at the benefits a postgraduate degree can offer.

The School of Mathematics has about 170 postgraduate students in principal areas of mathematics. To find out more come along to one of our open days to discuss your interests with academics and attend talks on the MSc and research degrees that we offer.

Our next Postgraduate Open Day is on Wednesday 17th February 2016.  If you would like to attend please complete a registration form.  Please see below the schedule of events for the afternoon.

13.30
Registration
14.00
"Introduction to MSc/PhD study" by the MSc Director, Dr Peter Foster and the PhD Director, Prof Matthias Heil, in Frank Adams 2, 1st Floor of the Alan Turing Building
14.50
Introdution to the Postgraguate Programme Directors on the Atrium Bridge, Alan Turing Building
15.00
Refreshments on the Atrium Bridge. This will provide an opportunity for informal discussions about our postgraduate programmes with Academics and current students
16.15
Tour of the Alan Turing Building

Postgraduate programme directors: 

 

PhD Actuarial Science

Dr Saralees Nadarajah

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5912

Email: Saralees.Nadarajah@manchester.ac.uk

MSc Actuarial Science

Dr Saralees Nadarajah

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5912

Email: Saralees.Nadarajah@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Applied Mathematics

Dr Catherine Powell

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3688

Email: Catherine.Powell@manchester.ac.uk

MSc in Applied Mathematics

Dr William Parnell

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5908

Email: William.Parnell@manchester.ac.uk

MSc Pure Mathematics and Logic

Dr Marcus Tressl

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3672

Email: Marcus.Tressl@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Logic

Dr Yuri Bazlov

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5816

Email: Yuri.Bazlov@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Statistics

Dr Alex Donev

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3699

Email: Alex.Donev@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Probability

Dr Alex Donev

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3699

Email: Alex.Donev@manchester.ac.uk

MSc Mathematical Finance

Dr Jonathan Bagley

Tel:+44 (0)161 306 3662

Email: Jonathan.Bagley@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Financial Mathematics

Dr Saralees Nadarajah

Tel: +44(0)161 275 5912

Email: Saralees.Nadarajah@manchester.ac.uk

MSc Statistics

Dr Jingsong Yuan

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3695

Email: Jingsong.Yuan@manchester.ac.uk

PhD Numerical Analysis

Dr Catherine Powell

Tel: +44(0)161 306 3688

Email: Catherine.Powell@manchester.ac.uk

 

General enquiries and applications

PG Admissions
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 0178
Email: pg-maths@manchester.ac.uk

 

▲ Up to the top