MALOA Workshop "Black Box groups and Model Theory", Manchester 16-18 September 2013

This event is supported by the Marie Curie FP7 Initial Training Network MALOA (PITN-GA-2008-MALOA no. 238381)

The workshop will be devoted to topics loosely arranged around model theory and complexity theory of black box groups, (pseudo-)finite groups and other (pseudo-)finite algebraic structures. Two to four lectures will be given on each of the following topics:

  • Bounded arithmetic (Emil Jerabek)
  • Model theory of pseudofinite groups (Dugald Macpherson)
  • Black box groups (Sukru Yalcinkaya)
  • Black box groups and possible model theoretic connections (Alexandre Borovik).
We also expect to have some shorter talks and provide a plenty of time for discussion.

Some support for travel and accommodation is available to PhD students from universities and institutions participating in the MALOA programme.


Mon 16 September Tue 17 September Wed 18 September
09:30-10:00 Coffee Coffee
10:00-10:30 Coffee  Yalcinkaya: Black box groups 3 Macpherson: Model Theory 3
10:30-11:00 Borovik: Black box groups 1
11:00-11:30 Macpherson: Model Theory 2 Borovik: Black Box groups 4
11:30-12:00 Jerabek: Bounded arithmetic 1
12:00-12:30 Lunch Lunch
12:30-13:00 Lunch
13:00-13:30 Jerabek: Bounded arithmetic 2 Final Discussion: Is a synthesis possible? Borovik, Jerabek, Leedham-Green, Macpherson, Pfeifer,  Yalcinkaya. In chair: Wilkie
13:30-14:00 Macpherson: Model Theory 1 Worshop ends
14:00-14:30 Jerabek: Bounded arithmetic 3
14:30-15:00 Yalcinkaya: Black box groups 2
15:00-15:30 Glivicky: Quantifier elimination for linear arithmetic
15:30-16:30 Panel Discussion: Practical complexity, with introductions from C. Leedham-Green and M. Pfeiffer Panel discussion: What does logic tell us?
19:00- Workshop Dinner

List of Participants

Martin Adamcik Charles Leedham-Green QMUL
Ricardo Bello Aguirre Leeds Jeff Paris
Omaima Alshanqiti Markus Pfeiffer St Andrews
Will Anscombe Leeds Laura Phillips
John Ballantyne Ian Pratt-Hartmann
Adam Biggs Mike Prest
Alexandre Borovik Erick Garcia Ramirez Leeds
David Bradley-Williams Leeds Peter Rowley
Haydar Göral Lyon 1 Bob Sandling
Petr Glivicky Prague Harold Simmons
Lorna Gregory Marcus Tressl
Emil Jerabek Prague Alena Vencovska
Gareth Jones Alex Wilkie
Marianne Johnson George Wilmers Leeds
Mark Kambites Daniel Wood Leeds
Charlotte Kestner UCLAN Sukru Yalcinkaya Turkey
Mohsen Khani Cheryl Zerafa Malta
Amit Kuber